Resilience, Change and the Third Sector 2014

As it recovers from one of the most destructive earthquakes in memory, Christchurch-Otautahi has learned about change and resilience.  In the context of widespread political and societal change, this conference asked : How can the ‘Third Sector’ maintain its integrity and be a force for positive change?

Resilience, Change and the Third Sector, the 12th Biennial conference of Australia and New Zealand Third Sector Research (ANZTSR) was held at Christchurch Polytechnic Institute of Technology, on 18-20 November 2014.  Conference website here.

Conference papers

The complete list of conference papers and proceedings – download here

For a specific paper, search search here

For a complete set of downloadable conference abstracts search here

The 2015 New and Emerging Researchers Workshop

Hosted by Bronwyn Boon and Margy-Jean Malcolm, this Community Research workshop was attended by over twenty ‘New and Emerging Researchers’ (and some established ones too), who together discussed the challenges and practices of socially-engaged, community-led research.  This was the fourth in our annual series of ‘New and Emerging Researchers’ Seminars.


Community Research hosts the 2014 New & Emerging Community Researchers Forum, Facilitated by Dr Bronwyn Boon (Otago University) and Dr Margy-Jean Malcolm (Unitec) for Community Research


The Conference was co-sponsored by Community Research, Christchurch Polytechnic Institute of Technology, and Unitec.



The Conference was organised by a local organizing committee, comprising:

Garth Nowland-Foreman (ANZTSR Board, Community Research Board and Unitec Senior Lecturer), Kim Chamberlain (Consultant, formerly with Ministry of Social Development), Ruth Gardner (Manager, Volunteering Canterbury), Tony Milne (National Manager of Public Health, Problem Gambling Foundation), Mary Richardson (Executive Officer, Christchurch Methodist Mission), Sandy Thompson (Not for Profit Programme Leader, Unitec NZ), and Sharon Torstonson (Executive Officer, Christchurch Council of Social Services)

The Committee was assisted by Lani Evans (Thankyou Payroll and  Malcam Charitable Trust)